prashant1987

NSLOOKUP and DNS Search Suffix

Posted on: August 26, 2011

A person who is like me ( I am still not mastered AD,DNS concepts ) who want to master and become a geek in directory services will face below mentioned problem when he start putting his AD and DNS in his lab.

I recently came across this problme when I installed AD, DNS in my Lab setup.

When I did a nslookup in cmd prompt I got below error message

 

 

  This is 90 % due to you have not configured the reverse lookup zone for your forward zone.

Note : how to configure reverse lookup zone please refer the technet article – http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc961414.aspx

I am sure when you configure it , it will resolve the Name server FQDN without any issues.

DNS Search Suffix.

The DNS search suffix’s are used by the client side to resolve the suffix (Ex – child.contoso.com , contoso.com etc)

 MVP – ACE Fekay has written beautiful article on that ,  Here is the link for that ( I thought instead of me expalining its better to put the link for ACE Link which I have referred 🙂 )

http://msmvps.com/blogs/acefekay/archive/2011/02/12/configuring-dns-search-suffixes.aspx

 

Hope this helps for Newbee’s ( Like Me) 🙂

Any quesiton mail it to – giteepag@yahoo.co.in

 

Leave a Reply

